The Claims Board considers claims for compensation by innocent persons who were convicted of a crime in the State of Wisconsin.
The processing of Innocent Convict Compensation claims is governed by § 775.05 of the Wisconsin Statutes. The following requirements must be met in order to file a petition for relief:
- The petitioner must have been imprisoned as a result of their conviction and released from that imprisonment after March 13, 1980
- The petitioner must not have contributed to their conviction by their own act or failure to act (for example, by pleading guilty)
- The petitioner must present evidence that they were innocent of the crime for which they were convicted
Filing a Claim
Please complete the Innocent Convict Compensation Claim Form shown below. The signed and notarized original form, plus any supporting documentation, can be submitted via email or mail (see contact information on claim form). Documents submitted by mail will not be returned, please do not submit originals.
Please note that Claims Board claims are considered public records under Wisconsin's Public Records Law. Claim forms and accompanying documents may be open to inspection by the public.
Claimant Information: Provide a complete mailing address, including a daytime phone number and email address, if possible.
Conviction Information: This section must be completed in its entirety. Failure to provide complete conviction information may result in rejection of the claim form.
Statutory compensation for imprisonment is limited to $5,000 per year with a maximum award of $25,000 by Wis. Stat. § 775.05(4).
Awards for amounts greater than $25,000 must be approved by the state legislature. Provide justification and documentation for any additional compensation amount requested.
The board may also award damages for attorney's fees paid by the petitioner. Please provide documentation for those damages such as receipts or invoices.
Statement: Petitioner should provide a complete account of the circumstances which resulted in their conviction, as well as clear and convincing evidence of that they were innocent of the crime for which they were convicted. See Wis. Stat. § 775.05(3).
Signature and Notarization: Claim forms must be signed and notarized. Forms that are not signed and/or notarized will be rejected.
Innocent Convict Compensation Claim Form